2017 AIESEP Young Scholar Award Recipients

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

October 20th, 2017

The AIESEP Early Career Network committee announces the winners of the 2017 AIESEP Young Scholars Award. The AIESEP Young Scholar Award is a competition for young members of AIESEP who plan or have embarked on careers as researchers in physical education and sport pedagogy. The award is designed to support the participation and involvement of early career scholars in AIESEP meetings. Nine, high quality applications were received from eight different countries (Germany, France, Portugal, USA, UK, New Zealand, Sweden, Canada). Many of these candidates provided evidence of high academic performance, exciting scholarship ideas and a commitment to the mission of AIESEP. After careful consideration by the committee, the following two young scholar winners will be recognized at the 2017 AIESEP conference in Guadeloupe.

  1. Magnus Ferry (PhD, Umea University, Sweden) with a presentation: “Pre-service physical education teachers’ conceptions on the subject and profession – changes over time”
  2. Aiko Mohwald (doctoral student, Technical University Dortmund, Germany) with a presentation “Provoking Uncertainty in Physical Education – a qualitative analysis of students’ handling”

These recipients will deliver an oral or poster presentation at the AIESEP Conference, and will receive the award during the closing ceremony.   

AIESEP Young Scholar Award Committee:

Michal Lenartowicz, J. Pilsudski University of Physical Education in Warsaw, Poland

Tristan Wallhead, University of Wyoming, USA

Erin Gerlach, University of Potsdam, Germany

Cassandra Iannucci

Cassandra Iannucci

About Us

AIESEP was founded in Lisbon in 1962, with the intent of bringing together scholars in the field of physical education and sport to share knowledge and engage in quality research.

Recent Posts

Sign up for our Newsletter

Stay up to date with all the latest news & events from AIESEP

As part of GDPR compliance, we use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. For more documentation, please click on the privacy centre.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.
  • __cfduid

We use WooCommerce as a shopping system. For cart and order processing 2 cookies will be stored. This cookies are strictly necessary and can not be turned off.
  • woocommerce_cart_hash
  • woocommerce_items_in_cart

Decline all Services
Accept all Services