AIESEP was founded in Lisbon in 1962, with the intent of bringing together scholars in the field of physical education and sport to share knowledge and engage in quality research. The first AIESEP President was Yvonne Surrel (France) and the first AIESEP conference took place in 1963 in Lisbon, Portugal.

Yvonne Surrel, AIESEP’s First President









Founding Institutions of AIESEP:

Institut für Leibesübungen, Bonn, Germany

Instituto Pedagogico, Caracas, Venezuela

Institut für Leibesübungen, Universität Graz, Austria

Deutsche Sporthochschule, Köln, Germany

Institut Supérieur d’Education Physique, Université de Liège, Belgium

Instituto Nacional Educaçao Fisica, Lisbon, Portugal

Ecole Fédérale de Gymnastique et de Sport, Magglingen, Switzerland

Instituto Nacional Educacion Fisica, Madrid, Spain

Ecole Normale Supérieure d’Education Physique – Jeunes Filles, Paris, France

Escola Nacional de Educaçao Fisica e Deportos, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Instituto Superiore Educazione Fisica, Rome, Italy


AIESEP Presidents throughout its history:

1963-1968 Yvonne Surrel, ENSEP – Chatenay-Malabry, France

1968-1983 José Maria Cagigal , INEF Madrid, Spain

1984-1998 John Cheffers, Boston University, US

1998-2006 Ron Feingold, Adelphi University, US

2006-2014 Pilvikki Heikinaro-Johansson, University of Jyvaskyla, Finland

2014-2022  Marc Cloes, University of Liège, Belgium

2022 to date Fiona Chambers, University of College Cork, Ireland


AIESEP Secretary Generals throughout its history:

1962-1966 Andresen Leitao, Institute of Physical Education, Lisbon

1966-1998 Maurice Pieron, University of Liège, Belgium

1998-2006 Claude Paré, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Canada

2006-2014 Marc Cloes, University of Liège, Belgium

2014- 2018 Mary O’Sullivan, University of Limerick, Ireland

2018-2022 Fiona Chambers, University of College Cork, Ireland


To view photos from AIESEP through the years visit our gallery.